Newest NCTC Regents sworn in

Elizabeth F. Dieter | Jun 29, 2017

Dick Haayen and Jerry Don Henderson were sworn in as Regents of the North Central Texas Community College District Board at the NCTC Board Meeting Monday night.

Haayen, an incumbent, ran unopposed for seat 7, while Henderson won in a run-off election for seat 6.

As soon as the meeting was called to order, regents canvassed the election returns, and the Honorable Jason Brinkley swore in the two new members.

Board Chair Karla Metzler opened the floor for nominations for officers for the NCTC Board of Regents. Regent Patsy Wilson nominated Karla Metzler for Chair, Dick Haayen for Vice Chair and Christy Morris for Secretary. There were no other nominations and the board voted unanimously to approve Wilson’s nominations.

During the Present’s Report, NCTC President Dr. Brent Wallace commended NCTC’s student athletes for their academic performance this semester. A total of 13 NCTC athletes were named to NJCAA All-Academic Student-Athlete teams. Four athletes were named to the First Team All-American, meaning they had a perfect 4.0 grade point average (GPA). One athlete was named Second Team All-American for a GPA between 3.8 and 3.99, and eight athletes were names Third Team All-American for GPAs between 3.6 and 3.79. Twenty-five athletes were named to the NCTC Dean’s List and ten were named to the NCTC President’s List.

The graduation rate for NCTC athletes is also up from 19% in 2007, to 79% in 2017.

After a normal financial report from Vice President of Fiscal Affairs Dr. Janie Neighbors, the board heard from Tom Bradshaw, Meteorologist in Charge for the National Weather Service in the DFW area.

Bradshaw presented a plaque to NCTC Senior Director of Emergency Management and Institutional Assurance Chris McLaughlin for the work NCTC has done to become a StormReady® campus.

“You have achieved something that only a select number of colleges and universities across Texas have accomplished, by becoming a StormReady® college,” said Bradshaw.

Bradshaw added that there is a very strict protocol that must be followed in order for a community or college to become StormReady®.

“Under Chris’s leadership and the leadership of your administration, NCTC has taken a number of steps to ensure the safety of student, faculty and staff during severe weather,” said Bradshaw.

As part of a long list of action items, Regents approved Empirical Networks as the vendor for a new infrastructure for the Information Technology Systems Department.

Regents also heard an update from the Campus Concealed Carry Committee. Regents were given a draft of their recommended policy changes and will vote on these changes at the August meeting.

A raise of 3.5% of the midpoint was approved for full-time 2017-18 salaries.

Regents accepted the resignations of Music Instructor Vince Kenney, Nursing Instructor Julie Martin, and History Instructor David Powell.

After a closed Executive Session, the board reconvened into an open meeting and denied a Level IV appeal filed by Kevin Sadowski.

Regent Jon Grime was unable to attend Monday’s meeting.


Swearing in New Board Members

Dick Haayen (left) and Jerry Don Henderson (center) were sworn in by the Honorable Jason Brinkley (right) as the newest members of the NCTC Board of Regents.