NCTC honor society brings home multiple awards

Elizabeth F. Dieter | May 5, 2017

The North Central Texas College Psi Iota chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) traveled to Nashville last month for the PTK Catalyst Annual Conference where they received multiple awards.

The Psi Iota chapter was not only named a Top 100 Chapter, but the NCTC group also received the title of Distinguished Chapter Award.

To be considered for a Distinguished Chapter Award, a chapter must submit entries for both the Honors in Action Project and College Project Awards. Selection of the Distinguished Chapters is based solely on the written entries for these Hallmark Awards. The scores in each of the two Hallmark categories are averaged to determine a chapter’s overall ranking. Awards are presented to the top 10 percent of chapters entering the Honors in Action and College Project categories. 

Psi Iota’s Fall 2016 Honors in Action Project was titled “Beauty vs. Vulgarity.” Students ran a social media campaign named “The Body Project,” covering body image issues, myths and facts, looking specifically at athleticism and fitness. “The students had a great response and participation,” said PTK Advisor Jill Swarner. “The built up their followers and then surveyed them about their body image beliefs.”

For their Spring 2016 College Project the chapter decided to host a professional clothing drive to provide professional dress clothes for interviews to NCTC Students. The chapter collected suits, skirts, dress shirts, shoes and more to provide many students with professional attire.

Psi Iota was also awarded the Distinguished Theme Award for their Honors In Action Theme “Vulgarity in Beauty.”

“I’m very proud of the success our chapter has seen this year,” said Swarner. “We had a strong officer team who collaborated very well together.”

The chapter is already working on it’s next Honors In Action Project over Human Trafficking Awareness.

If you are interested in joining PTK, contact Jill Swarner at You can also read more online at Psi Iota Advisors are Dr. Rochelle Gregory, Jill Swarner and Erica Thompson.


The chapter officers with the awards, pictured left to right: Vice President of Fellowship Ethan Gaston, Vice President of Membership Hillary Barron, Vice President of Service Kayla Caughlin, Chapter President Raegan Larussa, Vice President of Leadership Hunter Warner, and Vice President of Scholarship Hafeez Adewusi.