PTK Induction recognizes academic excellence

Elizabeth F. Dieter | Apr 28, 2017

The North Central Texas College Psi Iota chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted 131 new members in a ceremony Monday night.

These students have shown outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship in order to be accepted into this honor society.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan. 

Dr. Rochelle Gregory, advisor for NCTC’s award-winning Psi Iota chapter, said membership in PTK is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

The spring induction ceremony was held at Oakmont Country Club in Corinth and included a keynote address by NCTC Instructor Adam Ramsey.

Fall 2016 Psi Iota officers include President Raegan Larussa, Vice-President of Scholarship Hafeez Adewusi, Vice-President of Membership Hillary Barron, Vice-President of Service Kayla Caughlin, Vice-President of Fellowship Ethan Gaston and Vice-President of Leadership Hunter Warner.

NCTC’s Psi Iota Advisors are Dr. Rochelle Gregory, Jill Swarner and Erica Thompson.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees at NCTC, by hometown, include:

ABILENE: Calvin Seago

ARGYLE: Michael Caltrider, Cole Hawkins, Mona Isola, Michaela Johnson, Jessica Lindeman-Shook, Michael Mabry, Skyler Yeargan

AUBREY: Stephanie Johnson, Suleyma Robledo Rodriguez, Jerry Splawn

BOWIE: Madelyn Eckeberger, Connie Provost, Shelon Taylor


COLLEGE STATION: Preston Nielsen

COPPELL: Jacob Kariampally

CORINTH: Ashlyn Baack, Kailyn  Beauchamp, Kathryn Burr, Justin Crowley, Abigail Derton, Megan Huff, Elissia Rios

CROSSROADS: Chance Beck, Katrina Zacca

DECATUR: Ali Brewer, Andrew Campbell, Rochelle Tarrance

DENTON: Zackariah Arnold, Whitney Brann, Samantha Chilton, Joselyn Evans, Rebecca Evans, Kevin Flusche, Brooke Ford, Carissa Hollon, Kayla Jones, Samrat Lamichhane, Jocelin Meza, Roxanne Nunez, Gilbert Nyanchama, Sara Saeed, Shannon Sheppard, Isabel Stuhler, Andrea Sund, John Travis, Andre Wallace

DOUBLE OAK: Avery Nelson, Lisa Pascavis

FLOWER MOUND: McKenzie Blocker, Tyler Boertje, Eric Burnthorne, Catherine Cakmis, Charles Cook, Trevor Johnson, Hayley Knox, Grace Ko, John Logan, Pedro Marti, Harrison Pressly, Peyton Rodgers, Caroline Sabolik, Sydney Sheehan, Hallie Sundberg

FORT WORTH: Jasmine Adame, Mimi Panarisi

GAINESVILLE: Sarah Colson, Tyler Goldsworthy, Steven Hard, Christy Harder, Brennan Linnell, Jacob Long, Alexandra Torres

GORDONVILLE: Benjamin Blackwell

GRAHAM: Jack Hays, Cassandra Henlon, Chelsea Martin, Chapel West


IOWA PARK: Rylee Hodges

JUSTIN: Julyn Cross

KRUM: Hannah Connolly, Arakel Mikaelian

LAKE DALLAS: Qazi Ahmed, Shelby Kindhart, Raven Murray

LANTANA: Kathleen Downard, Caleb Woodman

LEWISVILLE: Savanna Boda, Nicole Brown, Jesus Castro, Nichele Chaney, Kathryn Coffey, Aidan Estwick, Mellisa Flores, Bryin Garofalo, Alexandra Glasgow, Catherine Gomez, Seerwan Hameed, Tanner Hernandez, Sean Holekamp, Sarah Jindra, Neil Laubach, Claudia Montoya, Kennedye Ralph, Itzel Tapia, Alondra Umana

MUENSTER: Adria Flusche, Abby Luttmer, Amy Luttmer, Karli Mouring

MYRA: Samantha Proffer

NOCONA: Cally Wade

OAK POINT: Seth Franke

PONDER: Monserrat Sandoval

PROVIDENCE VILLAGE: Victoria Langham, Rachael Tucker-Lampkin

ROANOKE: Cameron Adams, Anna Okamura

SANGER: Garrett Crandall, Natalie Ramsey

SAVANNAH: Vernon Klein

SHADY SHORES: Addison Blevins, Dawson Neal

SUNSET: Laken Jesseph

THE COLONY: Alyssa Norton

VAN ALSTYNE: Krystl Beaboutphilyaw, Madeline Horn


WICHITA FALLS: Baganira Ouattara

HONOR SOCIETY INDUCTEES—The newest members of the Psi Iota Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, international honor society for community college students and the largest in American higher education, joined Psi Iota officers for a group portrait following the recent Spring 2017 induction ceremony at Oakmont Country Club.